SPOKES Privacy Technology Conference Fall 2021

Register Now

December 7–8, 2021

 SPOKES Privacy Technology Conference Fall 2021

This gathering will bring together some of the brightest minds in privacy, policy, and technology to offer advice on the industry’s hottest topics including:

  • Privacy Predictions for 2022
  • The Rise of Privacy Operations
  • The Future of Privacy and Healthcare
  • And more to be announced soon!

Register to Join Spokes Privacy Technology Conference Fall 2021 Today!

Simply fill out the form below to register:

WireWheel Privacy Policy

Event Speakers

headshot of Martin Abrams

Martin Abrams

Executive Director and Chief Strategist
The Information Accountability Foundation

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai, Founder and CEO of WireWheel

Justin Antonipillai

CEO and Founder
WireWheel

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Virginia Bartlett

Privacy Operations Expert
WireWheel

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Rachelle Bastarache

Associate Legal Counsel, Regulatory Affairs and Enforcement
Shopify

headshot of Martin Abrams

Nishant Bhajaria

Head of Privacy Engineering and Assurance
Uber

Headshot of Andy Dale of Alyce

Rick Buck

Chief Privacy Officer
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Anne Cheung

Senior Global Privacy Counsel
Interpublic Group

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Sophie Dawson

Partner
Bird & Bird

Camille Landau Headshot

Amol Deshpande

Co-Founder and Chief Scientist
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Ginny Fahs

Associate Director, Product R&D – Digital Lab
Consumer Reports

headshot of Robert Glaser

Robert Glaser

Chief Privacy Officer and Vice President, Privacy Services
Advyz Cyber Risk Services, a division of Entisys360

Camille Landau Headshot

Judy Gordon

VP, Product Marketing
WireWheel

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jeremy Greenberg

Policy Counsel
Future of Privacy Forum

headshot of Martin Abrams

Dazza Greenwood

Senior Global Privacy Counsel
Consumer Reports

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Michael Hahn

Senior Vice President, General Counsel
IAB and IAB Tech Lab

Headshot of Andy Dale of Alyce

Michael Hallsworth, PhD

Managing Director
BIT Americas

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Josh Harris

Director, Global Privacy Initiatives
BBB National Programs

headshot of Martin Abrams

Yi Huang

Former Director of Engineering
Facebook

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Steven Jacobs

Director of Product Marketing & Partnerships
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Dr. Sara R. Jordan

Senior Researcher, Artificial Intelligence and Ethics
Future of Privacy Forum

Camille Landau Headshot

Camille Landau

Chief Marketing Officer
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Barbara Lawler

Chief Operating Officer & Sr. Strategist
The Information Accountability Foundation

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jessica B. Lee

Partner, Chair, Privacy, Security & Data Innovations
Loeb & Loeb

headshot of Robert Glaser

Virginia MacSuibhne

Chief Compliance & Privacy Officer
Agilent Technologies

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Lee Matheson

Policy Counsel, Global Privacy
Future of Privacy Forum

headshot of Martin Abrams

Renato Leite Monteiro

Co-Founder
Data Privacy Brasil

headshot of Martin Abrams

Christina Montgomery

Vice President & Chief Privacy Officer
IBM Corporation

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Sari Ratican

Head of Privacy and Data Protection
98point6 Inc.

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jessica L. Rich

Of Counsel
Kelley Drye & Warren

headshot of Martin Abrams

Todd Ruback

Director, U.S. Privacy
Promontory Financial Group, an IBM company

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Rebecca Shore

VP, Chief Privacy Officer
Albertsons Companies

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Christy Steele

Principal
Sands Capital

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

JoAnn Stonier

Chief Data Officer
MasterCard

headshot of Martin Abrams

Anna Togia

Technical Product Manager – Privacy, Security & Compliance
Hinge

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

CJ Utter

Director, RIHC Privacy Counsel
VIZIO

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jennifer Vancini

General Partner
Mighty Capital

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Lisa Waggoner

Chief Privacy Officer
TriNet

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Mark Webber

US Managing Partner
Fieldfisher

Day 1 Agenda

Tuesday, December 7, 2021

8:30 am PT ; 11:30 am ET

Third-Party Risk is Everywhere: Brainstorming Solutions to Supplier Management

Session sponsored by:

BBB National Program Logo

Privacy vendor management is evolving. With the proliferation of SaaS solutions and global data flows, proper vendor management now requires a nimble, risk-based, multi-layered approach that incorporates independent indicators of quality and trust. Based on their experience working with a diverse group of companies, this panel will discuss the real-world challenges and solutions for achieving supplier management at scale.

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Josh Harris

Director, Global Privacy Initiatives
BBB National Programs

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

CJ Utter

Director, RIHC Privacy Counsel
VIZIO

9:20 am PT ; 12:20 pm ET

Break

9:30 am PT ; 12:30 pm ET

Privacy in the Metaverse: What You Need to Know Today

Facebook’s decision to rebrand as Meta should serve as a wake-up call for privacy officers: the metaverse isn’t coming, it’s already here. As technology teams invest in immersive digital experiences such as VR / AR, privacy officers need to consider the implications of these new technologies and develop frameworks that can adapt. Learn from leading VCs and  privacy experts about the metaverse and the privacy challenges that these technologies are already posing to companies today.

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Rick Buck

Chief Privacy Officer
WireWheel

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jennifer Vancini

General Partner
Mighty Capital

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Christy Steele

Principal
Sands Capital

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jeremy Greenberg

Policy Counsel
Future of Privacy Forum

10:20 am PT ; 1:20 pm ET

Break

10:30 am PT ; 1:30 pm ET

Privacy Operations in Practice

Learn from privacy operations leaders the strategies and tactics you need to know to operationalize your program.

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Virginia Bartlett

Privacy Operations Expert
WireWheel

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Rebecca Shore

VP, Chief Privacy Officer
Albertsons Companies

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Rachelle Bastarache

Associate Legal Counsel, Regulatory Affairs and Enforcement
Shopify

11:20 am PT ; 2:20 pm ET

Break

11:30 am PT ; 2:30 pm ET

Vaccine Requirements, Biometrics, and the Challenge of Managing Employee Healthcare Data

Vaccination requirements present a novel and urgent challenge for privacy officers today. However, the current crisis might be a harbinger for a not-too-distant future in which CPOs are forced to reckon with the widespread use of employee health data, from vaccination records to biometrics, in their organization.

Learn from seasoned healthcare privacy officers about how to say yes — and when to say no — to the use of employee health information in your organization.

headshot of Robert Glaser

Robert Glaser

Chief Privacy Officer and Vice President, Privacy Services
Advyz Cyber Risk Services, a division of Entisys360

headshot of Robert Glaser

Virginia MacSuibhne

Chief Compliance & Privacy Officer
Agilent Technologies

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Sari Ratican

Head of Privacy and Data Protection
98point6 Inc.

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Lisa Waggoner

Chief Privacy Officer
TriNet

12:20 pm PT ; 3:20 pm ET

Break

12:30 pm PT ; 3:30 pm ET

Digital Advertising and the Global Privacy Patchwork

Hear privacy law experts from the U.S., Europe and Australia discuss the different policy choices being made in each jurisdiction concerning their privacy laws and the impact on the digital advertising industry.

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Michael Hahn

Senior Vice President, General Counsel
IAB and IAB Tech Lab

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jessica B. Lee

Partner, Chair, Privacy, Security & Data Innovations
Loeb & Loeb

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Mark Webber

US Managing Partner
Fieldfisher

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Jessica L. Rich

Of Counsel
Kelley Drye & Warren

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Sophie Dawson

Partner
Bird & Bird

1:20 pm PT ; 4:20 pm ET

Break

1:30 pm PT ; 4:30 pm ET

Explaining AI: How To Implement “Explainability” in Emerging Global AI/ML Regulations

This panel will focus on the emerging principle of “explainability” in regulations that deal with AI and automated decision making technologies. Panelists will discuss how to implement “explainability” in practice, as it is a common transparency requirement under both AI self-regulatory frameworks and prescriptive proposals like the EU AI Act, and a particularly challenging task for many privacy and compliance personnel. This panel will, for privacy professionals in the space, explore best practices for determining content to be included in AI disclosures, where such AI-specific disclosures should be made, and strategies for how to describe complex technologies in accordance with transparency and intelligibility requirements.

Headshot of Justin Antonipillai of WireWheel

Lee Matheson

Policy Counsel, Global Privacy
Future of Privacy Forum

headshot of Martin Abrams

Dr. Sara R. Jordan

Senior Researcher, Artificial Intelligence and Ethics
Future of Privacy Forum

headshot of Martin Abrams

Renato Leite Monteiro

Co-Founder
Data Privacy Brasil

headshot of Martin Abrams

Christina Montgomery

Vice President & Chief Privacy Officer
IBM Corporation

Day 2 Agenda

Wednesday, December 8, 2021

8:00 am PT ; 11:00 am ET

What Behavioral Economics Can Teach Privacy Officers

Any CPO knows that the hardest part about privacy isn’t the law – it’s the people. Developers, marketers and even executives ignore privacy considerations until an emergency strikes: a deal is lost, a fine is levied or a PR crisis emerges. For decades, the field of behavioral economics has studied why people ignore risk — and what organizations can do to get people to take the small steps necessary to avoid threats in the future.

We talk with Michael Hallsworth, PhD, Managing Director (Americas) for BIT, one of the leading applied behavioral insights firms, about using behavioral economics to influence culture and change behavior (and yes, even create better assessments along the way.)

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

Steven Jacobs

Director of Product Marketing & Partnerships
WireWheel

Headshot of Andy Dale of Alyce

Michael Hallsworth, PhD

Managing Director
BIT Americas

9:00 am PT ; 12:00 pm ET

Practical Steps to Implementing Privacy Engineering

Privacy is becoming integral in the design of products and systems. Learn methodologies, tools and techniques to ensure that your company integrates privacy into its design process.

Camille Landau Headshot

Amol Deshpande

Co-Founder and Chief Scientist
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Yi Huang

Former Director of Engineering
Facebook

headshot of Martin Abrams

Nishant Bhajaria

Head of Privacy Engineering and Assurance
Uber

headshot of Martin Abrams

Anna Togia

Technical Product Manager – Privacy, Security & Compliance
Hinge

9:50 am PT ; 12:50 pm ET

Break

10:00 am PT ; 1:00 pm ET

Redefining the Marketer’s Relationship with Data in the Privacy Age

Marketers have spent the past two decades building digital marketing engines fueled by broad and relatively unrestricted collection and processing of personal data. However, privacy regulation, motivated by broader consumer concerns, has forced marketing organizations to rethink their relationship with data and re-approach the way they measure, track and target consumers.

We talk about the broader cultural shift in marketing and what leading marketers are doing today to rebuild their data-driven marketing organizations in the age of privacy.

Camille Landau Headshot

Camille Landau

Chief Marketing Officer
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Todd Ruback

Director, U.S. Privacy
Promontory Financial Group, an IBM company

headshot of Martin Abrams

Anne Cheung

Senior Global Privacy Counsel
Interpublic Group

10:50 am PT ; 1:50 pm ET

Break

11:00 am PT ; 2:00 pm ET

Scaling Data Rights

Laws like CCPA create a new class of data rights, but they’re hard for consumers to use. In summer 2021, the Digital Lab at Consumer Reports began work on a “Data Rights Protocol” (DRP) that seeks to standardize the technical interchange of data rights requests.

Data Rights Protocol (DRP) is a draft specification that encodes a set of standardized request/response data flows for exercising Personal Data Rights provided under laws like the California Consumer Privacy Act. This protocol allows for the exchange of data rights requests between consumers, authorized agents, privacy compliance tech companies, and covered businesses and makes the evocation of these rights more consistent and efficient.

Camille Landau Headshot

Judy Gordon

VP, Product Marketing
WireWheel

headshot of Martin Abrams

Ginny Fahs

Associate Director, Product R&D – Digital Lab
Consumer Reports

headshot of Martin Abrams

Dazza Greenwood

Senior Global Privacy Counsel
Consumer Reports

1:00 pm PT ; 4:00 pm ET

Knowledge Creation and Data Protection: How an Enterprise Data Strategy Enables Both

The process of “knowledge creation” has been called “thinking with data,” and the process of “knowledge application” has been called “acting with data.” Understanding the difference between knowledge creation and knowledge discovery and the purposes for which they are being undertaken is critical to understanding how they should be governed as part of an enterprise data strategy. Learn about how ensuring the responsible and ethical development of new data-driven products and services is part of that strategy, along with the evolving global regulatory environment causes friction.

Headshot of Virginia Bartlett

JoAnn Stonier

Chief Data Officer
MasterCard

headshot of Martin Abrams

Martin Abrams

Executive Director and Chief Strategist
The Information Accountability Foundation

headshot of Martin Abrams

Barbara Lawler

Chief Operating Officer & Sr. Strategist
The Information Accountability Foundation

1:50 pm PT ; 4:50 pm ET

Break

2:00 am PT ; 5:00 pm ET

Closing Remarks

Headshot of Andy Dale of Alyce

Justin Antonipillai

CEO and Founder
WireWheel

Event Sponsors

Deloitte. logo

Learn and connect with the brightest minds in the industry